The Welfare Department

The Welfare Department, headed by the Chief Welfare Officer, is one of the statutory departments of the City Council. It works in collaboration with Governmental and Non-Governmental Organisations. It is responsible, amongst other things, for:

• The organisation of socio-cultural, youth, sporting, athletic and recreational activities.

• The running of nurseries, pre-primary schools, kindergartens and theatre (under renovation)..

• The organisation of exhibitions, civic receptions and other social gatherings.

• The provision of educational and hobby courses for the benefit of citizens.

The Welfare Department consists of 217 employees. The department is headed by the Chief Welfare Officer, who is assisted by the Principal Welfare Officer. There are 1 Senior Welfare Officer and 5 Welfare Officers.